Skip to main content

In-person forum set in search for provost

Since August, when the Office of the President announced the search for a new executive vice president and provost on the IU Bloomington campus, a search committee has been formed, and candidate consideration is underway.

The search committee is seeking staff and faculty feedback regarding what employees are looking for in an ideal candidate, as well as help identifying and recruiting great candidates. To provide input and nominate candidates for provost, visit

To assist in that process, the search committee will host a public in-person forum, open to all members of the IU community, from 3:30 to 5 p.m. Oct. 12 in Whittenberger Auditorium at the Indiana Memorial Union. Attendees can learn more about the search and provide ideas for the search process and candidates. Applicable COVID-19 protocols will be observed at the in-person meeting.

If you’re unable to attend in person, you can also participate via Zoom. Meeting details, including the Zoom link, are available on the search committee’s website.

Members of the search committee are:

  • Chair Fred H. Cate, Distinguished Professor in the Maurer School of Law and vice president for research.
  • Amy Van Pelt, director of finance, Hamilton Lugar School of Global and International Studies.
  • Bill Hetrick, chair of the Department of Psychological and Brain Sciences, College of Arts and Sciences.
  • Carolyn Calloway-Thomas, professor of African American and African Diaspora studies, College of Arts and Sciences.
  • Cathrine “Cate” Reck, clinical professor and director of undergraduate studies, College of Arts and Sciences’ Department of Chemistry.
  • Erika Dowell, associate director and curator of modern books and manuscripts, Lilly Library.
  • Kali Konstantinopoulos, Bachelor of Science candidate, Department of Intelligent Systems Engineering in the Luddy School of Informatics, Computing and Engineering and Department of Mathematics in the College of Arts and Sciences.
  • Marietta Simpson, Distinguished Professor of Music in the Jacobs School of Music.
  • Pavneet Bharaj, Ph.D. candidate, Department of Curriculum and Instruction in the School of Education.
  • Sanya Carley, Paul H. O’Neill Professor and director of the Master of Public Affairs Program and O’Neill Online MPA Program, O’Neill School of Public and Environmental Affairs.
  • Shanker Krishnan, Nestle-Hustad Professor of Marketing, Kelley School of Business.
  • Logan Paul, senior lecturer, Luddy School of Informatics, Computing and Engineering.

The public forum isn’t the only opportunity for providing input to the committee. Members of the committee are meeting with various groups across the campus to make sure they obtain the widest range of views.

Staff and faculty also can provide input into the search process and nominate candidates on the committee’s website. Employees are also encouraged to complete a survey.

Employees can always share ideas with individual committee members or with search committee chair Fred Cate at any time at