Skip to main content

Next Generation 2.0 names new cohort

An 18-member cohort has been selected for the eighth round of the Next Generation 2.0 leadership development program. Eight faculty and 10 staff members were selected in April by the program’s advisory board.

“We are so excited to welcome this very talented cohort of faculty and staff into the program,” Associate Vice Chancellor for Faculty Diversity and Inclusion Gina Sanchez Gibau said. “We are glad to be able to provide this development opportunity which aids in sustaining our campus community.”

The cohort will begin with an orientation in August and then start a nine-month curriculum in September that focuses on developing leadership skills and understanding contemporary issues in higher education. Participants will also identify, plan and implement a capstone project, either individually or in a group, that responds to an identified need of their department, the IUPUI campus or the Indianapolis community.

The Next Generation 2.0 program is supported by the Office of Academic Affairs and co-led by the Office for Women. It is geared toward faculty and professional staff at IUPUI who are women and/or members of underrepresented populations and are interested in leadership opportunities at IUPUI or professional development to enhance their current roles. This program directly addresses the IUPUI Strategic Plan goals to “develop our faculty and staff” and “promote an inclusive campus climate.”

“This program remains a critically important aspect of our strategy to grow leadership from within our institution,” Executive Vice Chancellor and Chief Academic Officer Kathy Johnson said. “The diversity that these leaders bring to their roles contributes to the overall excellence of IUPUI.”

Faculty and staff selected for the 2022-23 cohort are:

  • Kathryn Berlin, associate professor and undergraduate program director, School of Health and Human Sciences.
  • Katherine Brinkmeyer, lecturer and special programs director, School of Liberal Arts.
  • Marianne Cardwell, director of geoinformatics, School of Informatics and Computing.
  • Elizabeth Cassell, director of graduate affairs, School of Informatics and Computing.
  • Kimberley Coles, associate director of administration, School of Medicine.
  • Alissa Conklin, assistant professor of clinical obstetrics and gynecology, School of Medicine.
  • Melissa Evans, director of development, School of Dentistry.
  • Sara Griffin, social media specialist, Office of the Vice President for Communications and Marketing.
  • Carrie Hagan, director of experiential learning and clinical associate, McKinney School of Law.
  • Julie Ji, associate professor and director of graduate program, School of Engineering and Technology.
  • Alyssa Luna, senior assistant director of recruitment and outreach, Enrollment Management.
  • Chaunteia Marshall, financial administrative specialist and business manager, School of Medicine.
  • Shannon McCullough, assistant dean of admissions and student affairs, Herron School of Art and Design.
  • Wendy Morrison, associate professor, School of Liberal Arts.
  • Kim Raby, events sales and planning manager, IUPUI Event and Conference Services.
  • Angela Ritchie, assistant clinical professor, School of Dentistry.
  • Megan Siehl, director of clinical placement and coordination, School of Nursing.
  • Robert Smith, associate director, Kelley School of Business.

Karen E. Lee is director of academic affairs and strategic initiatives in the Office of the Executive Vice Chancellor and Chief Academic Officer.