Skip to main content

New leadership structure for graduate education

Changes to the structure of the University Graduate School will allow Indiana University to continue advancing the success of its graduate students while prioritizing its mission-critical diversity, equity and inclusion strategy.

After nine years of serving in dual leadership roles as vice president for diversity, equity and multicultural affairs and dean of the University Graduate School, James Wimbush will devote his leadership focus solely to efforts advancing IU’s culture of inclusion, accessibility and belonging. He will continue serving as vice president in this capacity.

The University Graduate School will be restructured to create separate graduate schools serving the IU Bloomington and IUPUI campuses, effective Aug. 15.

David Daleke, vice provost for graduate education and health sciences and associate dean of the University Graduate School at IU Bloomington, will serve as interim dean of the Bloomington Graduate School. Janice Blum, vice chancellor for research and graduate education and associate dean of the University Graduate School at IUPUI, will serve as interim dean of the IUPUI Graduate School. Based on the level of graduate student enrollments, each regional campus will maintain their current structure or designate a campus coordinator.

“This restructuring is a vital first step in enabling Indiana University to maximize an ambitious diversity, equity and inclusion agenda and simultaneously enhance our service and support to strengthening the success of our valued graduate students on all our campuses,” IU President Pamela Whitten said.

In the coming weeks, IUPUI Interim Chancellor Andy Klein and IU Bloomington Provost Rahul Shrivastav will share information with their respective campuses regarding the search and selection of permanent deans of IU’s new graduate schools.