Skip to main content

Distinguished Teaching and Service awards honor faculty

Indiana University is recognizing five faculty members and two doctoral students this semester for their demonstrated excellence in teaching and service.

The 2023 University Teaching and Service Awards honorees represent IU Bloomington, IU Kokomo, IU South Bend and IU School of Medicine.

For additional information, visit the University Honors and Awards website. Videos of the honorees will be released later this spring.

Teaching Awards

James Smith, associate professor of political science at IU South Bend, will be awarded the Frederic Bachman Lieber Memorial Award for distinguished teaching. The award, which is the oldest teaching award at IU, is given to faculty members who have shown dedication to helping their students and are also masters of their subject.

Laura Brown, senior lecturer of chemistry at IU Bloomington, will be awarded the President’s Award for Distinguished Teaching, which recognizes faculty who represent excellence in teaching across the university’s campuses, schools and departments.

Two individuals will be presented with the Lieber Memorial Associate Instructor Award, which recognizes young teachers who have not yet achieved faculty rank. The honorees are Andrew Cale, Ph.D. student in anatomy education at the IU School of Medicine, and Dasha Carver, Ph.D. student in educational psychology at IU Bloomington.

Meghan Porter, senior lecturer of chemistry at IU Bloomington, will be awarded the President’s Award for Excellence in Teaching and Learning Technology. This award recognizes faculty who have made distinguished contributions to enhancing the classroom experience with new technologies.

Service Awards

Laura Stachowski, clinical professor in the School of Education at IU Bloomington, will be awarded the John W. Ryan Award for Distinguished Contributions to International Programs and Studies. This award honors faculty members and librarians from all campuses for their exceptional contributions to the university’s international programs and studies.

J.R. Pico, teaching professor in Spanish and humanities at IU Kokomo, will be awarded the W. George Pinnell Award for Outstanding Service. This award recognizes faculty members and librarians who have shown exceptional breadth of involvement in service to the university, their discipline or their community.

University Honors and Awards

University Honors and Awards identifies and commemorates the achievements of those affiliated with Indiana University, including students, faculty, staff, alumni and friends. These honors demonstrate IU’s breadth and depth of excellence in research, teaching, service, philanthropy, athletics, arts, performance and other creative endeavors.

For photos and additional information about the 2023 University Teaching and Service award recipients, past recipients and other awards, visit the University Honors and Awards website.