Skip to main content

Next Generation 2.0 program names new cohort

Seven faculty and 10 staff members have been selected for the ninth round of the Next Generation 2.0 leadership development program.

“With each new academic year, we’re excited to welcome a new cohort of extremely talented faculty and staff into the program,” said Gina Sanchez Gibau, associate vice chancellor for faculty diversity and inclusion. “At a time when our campus is undergoing a tremendous amount of change, leadership development will be critical to our success as we move forward.”

The Next Generation program is supported by the Office of Academic Affairs and co-led by the Office for Women. It encourages IUPUI faculty and professional staff who are women and/or members of underrepresented populations, and interested in leadership opportunities or professional development, to enhance their current roles. The program directly supports the campus’s strategic plan goals to develop faculty and staff and promote an inclusive campus climate.

“It is critical that our campus continue to invest in the professional growth and development of our faculty and staff,” said Kathy Johnson, executive vice chancellor and chief academic officer. “Strong leaders, representing a diverse array of perspectives and identities, enhance the excellence of IUPUI. I am so grateful to my colleagues who lead, advise and invest in the Next Generation 2.0 program, and am so excited about the faculty and staff who participate in it.”

The nine-month curriculum begins in September and will focus on developing leadership skills and understanding contemporary issues in higher education. Participants will also have the opportunity to identify, plan and implement a capstone project that responds to an identified need of their department, on campus or in the Indianapolis community.

Faculty and staff selected for the 2023-24 cohort are:

  • Carolyn Hasser, human resources business partner in the School of Dentistry.
  • Jewel Mosley, Bachelor of Social Work student services coordinator and recruitment specialist in the School of Social Work.
  • Tonja M. Padgett, interim assistant chair of science in the Department of Science of Nursing Care in the School of Nursing.
  • Helen Shere, foundational sciences curriculum specialist in the School of Medicine.
  • Aisha-Amina L. Smiley, director of the Bachelor of Social Work program in the School of Social Work.
  • Aueyia Taylor, event service specialist in the School of Medicine.
  • Joan Charlesworth, financial administration leader in the School of Medicine.
  • Janelle Cissell, associate director of emerging graduate programs in the Kelley School of Business.
  • Estela Ene, chair of the Department of English in the School of Liberal Arts.
  • Josie Gingrich, education programs admissions and outreach counselor in the School of Medicine.
  • Sumedha Gupta, associate professor of economics in the School of Liberal Arts.
  • Patricia Kinney, assistant dean of diversity and inclusion in the Robert H. McKinney School of Law.
  • Allison Martin, clinical professor of law in the Robert H. McKinney School of Law.
  • Elizabeth Simpson, assistant professor in the School of Dentistry.
  • Jessa Trimble, director of professional development and the Health and Life Sciences Advising Center in the Division of Undergraduate Education.
  • Beth Young, multimedia communication specialist in the Office of the Chancellor.
  • Nichole Neuman, assistant professor of German in the School of Liberal Arts.

For more information about the Next Generation 2.0 program, including a list of past cohorts and their capstone projects, visit the program’s website.